To Blog or Not to Blog

pexels-photo-54283.jpegI’ve always loved documenting my life.

When I was a little girl I kept diaries (SO basic, I know…) and wrote down the joys and troubles of my life. As articulate as a six year old can be, I remember trying to put words on the page of a cheap, glittery, furry, diary. Those diaries lost importance as my life got moving and they’re probably at the bottom of some landfill now.

As I went through high school I followed the trend of every 14-18 year old and shared parts of my life on social media.

OKAY SO FAR YOU SEEM JUST LIKE EVERYONE ELSE (<-Your internal dialogue)

Here’s the part that separates me from the pack, y’all-

I have a 45 min video documenting my entire college experience.

Don’t believe me? Here’s proof!

Screen Shot 2018-04-15 at 9.00.41 PM
Beginning of the video
Screen Shot 2018-04-15 at 9.01.25 PM
End of video

After my freshman year of college I had a collection of videos and pictures I had taken throughout the year. I treasured these memories and wondered how I was ever going to organize or keep up with these precious moments.

So I put together a short video (8-10 minutes) on my Mac of all my favorite video clips or pictures from the year. I enjoyed how easy it was to go back and relive my freshman year that I decided to do it again at the end of sophomore year. And I think you can see the pattern.

Anyway, once I graduated I decided that an even better way to keep all these memories organized was to just compile all 4 videos into one large video! So that’s exactly what I did. Now whenever nostalgia starts creeping in I can just pull that video up and rewatch 4 year of my life!

That video allowed me to document my entire romance/courtship/ with my husband!

It allowed me to document my journey into the teaching profession from Edu 101 to my Teacher Induction ceremony.

It allows me to reminisce on past friendships that I let go of and friends that I still depend on.

At the end of the 4 years I was able to show friends and family how they impacted my life through a 45 min video. We were able to relive and laugh at good memories, praise our awesome God for getting us through seasons we were unsure of, and enjoy the small moments that made up 4 years of our lives.

I can’t be the only one who thinks that’s pretty awesome.

The point I am trying to make is that I feel very strongly about documenting my life. I want to share my joys and sorrows with others. I want to record the reasons behind my smiles or tears.

So here I am! A 23 year old wife, educator, puppy momma, and daughter of Christ…sitting on my living room floor, typing out my heart for the world to see. I’m inviting you to come along and join me.

Maybe I can offer you advice (you can definitely offer me advice), make you laugh, reflect, or smile.

Thanks for taking the time to read this long blog post! In a world where we have videos thrown at us in every direction-YOU READ SOMETHING TODAY! Give yourself a pat on the back!

Remember: YOU. Are. Enough!

-Emily ❤


Leave a comment